JESC 2011: 12 countries in Yerevan

This evening, the European Broadcasting Union has announced the list of participants for this year’s Junior Eurovision song contest, due to take place in Yerevan on December 3rd.

As we already reported, Serbia, Latvia and Malta have withdrawn from the event since last year’s contest in Minsk, leaving only eleven participants. This year, EBU has persuaded microstate San Marino‘s television station (SMRTV) to debut in the contest, bringing the number of countries up to 12.

Armenia (ARMTV) FYR Macedonia (MKRTV) Russia (VGTRK)
Belarus (BTRC) Lithuania (LRT) Sweden (SVT)
Belgium (VRT) Moldova (TRM) Ukraine (NTU)
Georgia (GPB) Netherlands (AVRO) San Marino (SMRTV)


Talking about the number of withdrawing countries this year, Sietse Bakker, new supervisor of Junior Eurovision has said “Broadcasters all over Europe face the consequences of the financial crisis and the budget cuts they have to implement. Despite that, we are grateful for the support from a sufficient number of countries. Nevertheless, we consider it our duty at the EBU to steer the contest through this challenging period. We are confident of its potential”.

The Junior Eurovision steering group, made up of five members – the chairmanm, two elected, the previous year’s show producer and this year’s show producer (Levon Simonyan) have met this week in Geneva to discuss the event, and have decided that each national spokesperson will announce all of the points, rather than just announcing points 6 – 12 as before.

More information on this year’s contest – including the logo – is expected to be revealed within the next 10-14 days.