Armenia chooses twenty new songs for Depi Evratesil

The Armenian preselection Depi Evratesil will feature 20 participants. Head of Press David Tserunyan released their names today in an official press release. Unlike last year, participants will perform their potential Eurovision song during the preselection shows.

Last year, Armenia used Depi Evratesil as their Eurovision preselection format for the first time. The format was relatively similar to the international talent show format “The Voice”, where participants sing cover songs. Winner Artsvik received a ticket to Eurovision, and her song was written at a later stage.

This year, however, Armenia changes its strategy, making their preselection even more interesting. Armenian jurors and televoters will not only be looking for the best artist – but also for the best Eurovision song.

Depi Evratesil 2018 participants:

  • Robert Koloyan,
  • Sevak Khanaghyan,
  • Suren Poghosyan,
  • Mger Armenia,
  • Tyom,
  • Zhanna Davtyan,
  • Hayk Kasparov,
  • Gevorg Harutyunyan,
  • Maria’s Secret,
  • Hasmik Shiroyan,
  • Angel,
  • Amaliya Margaryan,
  • Tamar Kaprelian,
  • Lusine Mardanyan,
  • Arman Mesropyan,
  • Mariam,
  • Kamil,
  • “Nemra”,
  • “Alternative”
  • “Gata”

The last three participants are bands, the other 17 are solo artists.

First show on February 3rd

In the press release, Tserunyan reveals more about the format:

“This year, the contest will feature 3 stages of selection: the live shows, the semi-final and the grand finale. The artists will present their original songs during the shows, where the international jury and the viewers at home will decide the result. The competing songs will be available on our official YouTube channel in January. The first live show will air on February 3.”