Australia Decides 2020: Voice-winner Diana Rouvas and Got Talent-winner Jack Vidgen take part

Diana Rouvas at The Voice of Australia

Over the last couple of weeks, broadcaster SBS Australia has revealed the ten acts that will battle for the Australian ticket to the Eurovision Song Contest 2020 in Rotterdam. Most prominent names on the list are those of Jack Vidgen, the winner of Australia Got Talent in 2011 and Diana Rouvas, the most recent winner of The Voice.

These are the ten acts that will take part in Australia Decides 2020 on the 8th of February at the Gold Coast Convention and Exhibition Centre:

1. Casey Donovan
2. Vanessa Amosori
3. Mitch Tambo
4. iOTA
5. Montaigne
6. Didirri
7. Diana Rouvas
8. Jack Vidgen
9. Jordan-Ravi
10. Jaguar Jonze

Meet the artsist for Australia Decides 2020

Jessica Alyssa Cerro, who performs as Montaigne, is an Australian art pop singer-songwriter-musician. Her debut album, Glorious Heights, was released on 5 August 2016, which peaked at No. 4 on the ARIA Albums Chart. At the ARIA Music Awards of 2016 she won Breakthrough Artist – Release for the album and was nominated for three other categories.

Didirri Peters grew up in the coastal Australian countryside, in the town of Warrnambool. He began writing songs as a challenge to himself to be honest. His candid storytelling comes from wanting to face the truth, however beautiful or confronting. His poetic lyricism began as a private conversation, that now brings hope to his listeners.

Mitch Tambo is a Melbourne-based singer who came to national attention earlier this year after performances on Australia’s Got Talent. He combines traditional Indigenous sounds with contemporary beats and production, and is an up and coming voice in the Australian music scene.

iOTA is a critically acclaimed singer and songwriter, stage and screen actor, write, composer and voice-over artist. His career highlights include performances in Smoke & Mirrors, Hedwig and the Angry Inch and the Rocky Horror Show. He has also appeared in films such as Mad Max: Fury Road and The Great Gatsby.

Vanessa Joy Amorosi was born on the 8th August 1981 and is an Australian singer-songwriter and recording artist. Her combined album and single sales have reached over two million worldwide. She is known for her vocal range and her ability to vocally cover various genres of music including pop, rock, blues, jazz and gospel.

Casey Donovan is an Australian singer, songwriter, actress, theatre actress and author, best known for winning the second season of the singing competition show Australian Idol in 2004. She won the competition at age 16, becoming the series’ youngest winner. Her song for the national final is called ‘Proud’.

Jack Vidgen won Australia’s Got Talent in 2011 and took part in The Voice of Australia 2019. His Eurosong is already online and can be heard here. Jack said: “I am incredibly excited to be a part of Eurovision – Australia Decides 2020 and actually can’t believe it’s really happening.”

Then we have Diana Rouvas, who also took part in The Voice 2019 and even won the competition. She was being coached by Boy George and will sing ‘Can we make heaven’ at the Australian preselection.

Jordan-Ravi is a rather unknow newcomer to Australian tv, though he also took part (briefly) at Australia’s Got Talent in the past. He will be performing Pushing Stars, a song which came in via the SBS Song Portal, and was co-written by a couple of this year’s Eurovision – Australia Decides stars, George Sheppard and Tania Doko.

Finally, the indie-rocksinger Jaguar Jonze, born in Japan to a Taiwanese mother and Australian father, is described as eclectic as her cultural upbringing oozing influences by the likes of Portishead, The Last Shadow Puppets, Nick Cave and Angel Olsen.


  1. This is amazing news! Casey Donovan has long been our best voice, makes perfect sense to have her represent us!

  2. Dear ESC Daily
    May I wish everyone in the sphere of the Eurovision Song Contest a Happy New Year and an even easier 2020. Also my I send my very best of luck to Israel in hosting this years Eurovision Song Contest after their victory last year in Rotterdam, Netherlands.

    Once again may I wish everyone a Happy New Year

    Bonne Annee

    Yours Truly

    David James Toft
    United Kingdom

Comments are closed.