Australia in pot 5 during Eurovision allocation draw

The European Broadcasting Union has revealed the semi final allocation draw pots. Australia is in pot 5 together with Israel, Austria, Czech Republic, Malta and San Marino.

The allocation draw will determine which countries will perform in which semi final. There are six pots with six or seven countries in each, and the countries from every pot will be evenly divided over the two semi finals. In the end, 19 countries will compete in semi final 1 on Tuesday May 8th and 18 countries in semi final 2 on Thursday May 10th.

Eurovision voting patterns

Main reason for the pot drawing is historic voting patterns. Countries with similar tastes go in the same pot to avoid unbalanced semi finals. This means that Australia will only meet two out of the five mentioned countries. Israel, Austria, Czech Republic, Malta and San Marino.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.