Australia: SBS to compete at Junior Eurovision

Australian broadcaster SBS has announced in a media release today that the country will be accepting the EBU’s invitation to compete at the Junior Eurovision Song Contest 2015. This will be the island nation’s debut in the contest.

The young artist and the Australian entry will be announced this Friday, October 9th, 2015. SBS will broadcast the Junior Eurovision Song Contest live at 4.30am (AEST) on Sunday the 22nd November on SBS. This will be followed by a replay at 7.30pm on Saturday the 28th of November.

The winner of Junior Eurovision Song Contest will be decided by a combined vote of the juries and televoting of the participating countries. Some countries, including Australia, will not use televoting but only a jury vote.

The winner of Junior Eurovision will have the chance to perform during the Eurovision Song Contest 2016; leaving the door open for Australia to once again perform during the Eurovision Song Contest if the country is successful in their Junior Eurovision bid.

The 17 countries taking part in the 13th Junior Eurovision Song Contest are: Albania, Armenia, Australia, Belarus, Bulgaria, Georgia, Ireland, Italy, Macedonia, Malta, Montenegro, The Netherlands, San Marino, Serbia, Slovenia, Russia, Ukraine. This means the highest number of participants in JESC since 2007.

‪The contest will be held in Sofia, Bulgaria, and #‎Discover‬ is this year’s theme. Now that Australia will take part, will be there as well to cover all the latest news for you!