Australia: SBS will broadcast Junior Eurovision 2013

Australia in Eurovision

Australian broadcaster SBS will air the upcoming Junior Eurovision Song Contest with a delay. The Eurovision fans down under will be able to watch the junior version of the biggest song contest on the planet on Sunday 1 December at 6pm. The show can be seen on SBS2.

Here you can read how the Aussies are looking forward to the contest:

“Juvenile Jedwards, some mini Lordi, a pint-sized Lena, cutie Celine Dions and perhaps even an adolescent ABBA are warming up their yet-to-be-broken vocal chords as the Junior Eurovision Song Contest makes its debut performance on SBS 2.”

“All of the classic Eurovision power ballads, dance beats, kitsch costumes, expressive back-up dancers, novelty props, wind machines, pyrotechnics and glitter are coming; just in a smaller, cuter package.”

“SBS 2 is so excited to be the new home of the contest, it has lined up Australian hosts Andre Nookadu and Georgia McCarthy to help audiences discover and rally behind their favourite 10 to 15 year old superstar performers as they vie for Eurovision glory.”

“A decade old, Junior Eurovision celebrates its eleventh birthday this year and, like most of its contestants, has officially become a tween. The first Junior Eurovision Song Contest took place in Copenhagen, Denmark, in 2003 and was an instant international hit.”

“This year’s show comes from the National Palace of Arts in Kyiv, Ukraine, after their own 10 year old pitch-perfect Anatasiya Petryk won last year’s contest in a landslide victory with her extremely catchy dance-electronica ballad ‘Nebo’ (Sky).”

“The theme for the 2013 Junior Eurovision Song Contest is ‘Be Creative’, which clearly strikes a chord with these talented tweens who have each co-written or composed their own song.”

“Like the grown-up version, The Junior Eurovision Song Contest winner is chosen by a combined vote of the official jury panel, together with the ranking points handed out by viewers in each participating country. The rules differ slightly as prizes are awarded to first, second and third placegetters.”

“The 12 countries battling it out in this year’s contest are Armenia, Azerbaijan, Belarus, Georgia, Macedonia, Malta, Moldova, Netherlands, Russia, San Marino, Sweden and host country Ukraine.”

“The mini songster who takes out the title this year is also given the opportunity to be a part of the 2014 Eurovision Song Contest in Copenhagen, Denmark.”

“Join in the conversation online using @SBS2 #JESC”