Austria: Listen to eight finalists

[cft format=0]

Last night in Vienna, ORF held a Song Contest Party where all the candidates for the Austrian National Final met and presented their entries to the national selection live. This morning on Hitradio Ö3, eight of the ten entries to the Austrian National Final were aired, which is scheduled to take place next month, on Friday the 24th of February.

This year, nine acts were invited by Austrian broadcaster ORF to take part in the National Final, where the acts had the right to select their own entries to the final. The tenth act was selected via an open call from the Austrian broadcaster, where over 100 songs were submitted. From the entrants, ORF selected the Mary Broadcast Band as lucky act number ten, due to their entry providing an even greater variety in the songs of the final.

ORF has provided links to listen to eight out of the ten finalists, as the entries from Blockstars and Krautschädl are yet to be finalised. Additionally, Hitradio Ö3 has released the following video from last night’s party;


01: !Deladap – “Crazy Swing” – Listen here
02: Blockstars – (Unavailable)
03: James Cottriall – “Stand Up” – Listen here
04: Krautschädl – “Einsturzgefohr” – (Unavailable)
05: Mary Broadcast Band – “How Can You Ask Me” – Listen here
06: Papermoon – “Vater, Father, Mon Père” – Listen here
07: Norbert Schneider – “Medicate My Blues Away” – Listen here
08: Trackshittaz – “Woki Mit Deim Popo” – Listen here
09: Valerie – “Comme Ca” – Download here
10: Conchita Wurst – “That’s What I Am” – Listen here

Eurovision fans may remember the Trackshittaz from last year’s Austrian selection, where they came 2nd with their popular entry ‘Oidz Taunz!’. They were narrowly beaten in the Austrian selection by Nadine Beiler, who took the country to 18th place in the Eurovision Song Contest Final of 2011 with ‘The Secret Is Love’.

With thanks to Sascha Frasz for his assistance with this article.

Stay tuned!