Ben & Tan wins Danish final in an empty arena

Ben & Tan perform at DMGP 2020 Source: DK

During a ‘ghostfinal’ at the Royal Arena in Copenhagen, the Danish ticket for the Eurovision Song Contest 2020 has been won by Ben & Tan. The song ‘Yes’ will be used as the Danish entry in Rotterdam.

Ten acts participated in the empty arena in Denmark, an action which was taken due to the spreak of the coronavirus in Europe. After they all performed their songs, three of the made it to the super final.

The three finalists were Sander Sanchez, Ben & Tan and Emil (with a song written by Tim Schou from A Friend in London). Big surprise was the first round elimination of bookmakers favourite Jasmin Rose feat. RoxorLoops. A public and jury voted selected Ben & Tan as the eventual winner.

Full results Danish Melodi Grand Prix 2020:

The songs listed in bold qualified for the superfinal:

Isam B – “Bølger”
Ben & Tan – “Yes” (WINNER) 61%
Maja & De Sarte Sjæle – “Den eneste goth i Vejle”
Benjamin Kissi – “Faith”
Emil – “Ville ønske jeg havde kendt dig” 19%
Sys Bjerre – “Honestly”
Jamie Talbot – “Bye Bye Heaven”
Sander Sanchez – “Screens” 20%
Kenny Duerlund – “Forget It All”
Jasmin Rose feat. RoxorLoops – “Human”