Tonight: Dansk Melodi Grand Prix 2011

Tonight the Dansk Melodi Grand Prix 2011 will select the entry to represent Denmark at the Eurovision Song Contest 2011 in Düsseldorf in May. 

The competing entries in running order are as follows:

1. Anna Noa – Sleepless (John Gordon/Peter Bjørnskov/Lene Dissing)
2. Jenny Berggren – Let Your Heart Be Mine (Jeppe Federspiel/Thomas G:son/Lars Sjelle)
3. Jeffrey – Drømmen (Lasse Lindorff/Svend Gudiksen/Daniel Fält/Kim Nowak-Zorde)
4. Le Freak – 25 Hours A Day (Thomas G:son/Henrik Sethsson/Erik Bernholm)
5. Sine Vig – You’ll Get Me Through (Hanif Sabzevari/Henrik Janson)
6. Stine Kinck – Hvad hjertet lever af (Søren “Pharfar” Schou/Rasmus Allin/Andreas “Fresh-I” Keilgaard/Stine Kinck)
7. Lee Hutton – Hollywood Girl (Sune Haansbæk/Matilde Kühl/Ian Mack)
8. Christopher Brandt – Emma (Christopher Brandt/Sisse Marie Søby)
9. Kat & Justin Hopkins – Black and Blue (Patric Jonsson/Joacim Övrenius/Justin Hopkins)
10. A Friend In London – New Tomorrow (Lise Cabble/Jakob Glæsner)

According to bookmakers, Le Freak and A Friend In London are favourites to win the contest, with A Friend In London also performing as song number ten, which has produced five of the last ten Dansk Melodi Grand Prix winners.

Kirsten Siggaard and Martin Knudsen will perform an interval act of their new single Dit Grand Prix Hit, a Danish version of the 2007 Swedish hit Värsta schlagern by Linda Bengtzing and Markoolio. The Danish lyrics were penned by Søren Bundgaard, Kirsten’s partner in Hot Eyes (DEN 84, 85, 88) and Eurovision legend Keld Heick.

The show starts at 20.30 CET and can be seen on DR1. There is no official stream of the contest for international viewers, however ESCDaily will be live blogging the show, and will be able to advise of any live stream that is available outside of Denmark.

Read ESCDaily’s interviews with some of the DMGP 2011 artists here:


A Friend In London
Sine Vig
Christopher Brandt
Kat & Justin Hopkins