Estonia: Jüri Pootsmann to Stockholm with Stig Rasta composition

Moments ago, Estonia chose Jüri Pootsmann as their representative this evening via the eighth edition of Eesti Laul. As the preselection season slows to a close, the 10 remaining entries in Tallinn competed on stage to see who would fly the Estonian flag in Stockholm at the Eurovision Song Contest in May. The song Play was the lucky winner.

There was extreme interest in the selection show this year, as broadcaster EER received 238 song submissions – which is their new record high. Over two semi-final rounds the 20 selected compositions for the live shows were cut down to the best 10.

There were two rounds of voting tonight. In the first, half of the votes were split 50/50 between a jury and the public audience. The three chosen entries were Jüri Pootsmann, Laura and Cartoon feat. Kristel Aaslaid who then went through to a super final, where televoting alone decided on Pootsmann as the winner.

 Among the contestants were also some big names, such as Stig Rasta, who represented Estonia in Vienna, as the composer of the song Play by Jüri Pootsmann. Laura and Greta Paia were returning favorites from past editions of Eesti Laul. Also participating was 2014 representative Tanja, as part of the girl group La La Ladies, who were eliminated in an early round.

The lineup this evening follows (winner in bold):

  1. Laura – Supersonic
  2. Go Away Bird – Sally
  3. Mick Pedaja – Seis
  4. Grete Paia – Stories Untold
  5. Kéa – Lonely Boy
  6. Jüri Pootsmann – Play
  7. Kati Laev & Noorkuu – Kaugel Sinust
  8. Cartoon feat. Kristel Aaslaid – Immortality
  9. Meisterjaan – Parmupillihullus
  10. I Wear* Experiment – Patience

Following in the footsteps of Elina Born and Stig Rästa, who placed 7th in the Grand Final in Vienna with the song Goodbye To Yesterday, can ? achieve the same status? Let ESC Daily know what you think!