Eurovision 2018: FYR Macedonia gets to participate after all

The Eurovision Song Contest 2018 will have 43 countries participating after all. The EBU has confirmed that FYR Macedonia has been added to the participation list, now that their debts to the broadcasting organisation have been paid.

The EBU and Macedonian Radio Television (MRT) announce that MRT will now participate in the 2018 Eurovision Song Contest. This follows the lifting of sanctions imposed for non-payment of debt. MRT will be participating in the Eurovision Song Contest for the 18th time. The number of participants in the 2018 competition equals the record set in Belgrade in 2008 and Düsseldorf in 2011.

Jon Ola Sand, the EBU’s Executive Supervisor of the Eurovision Song Contest, said. “The EBU and MRT have worked quickly to find a resolution on this matter together, which ensures that MRT are able to join us in the Eurovision Song Contest once again. And we are pleased to announce that this has now been possible. This means we will have a record-equalling number of countries participating in Lisbon. And we are very confident that those are successful in purchasing tickets will enjoy their Eurovision experience next year.”

With FYR Macedonia on board also, Lisbon now has a joint record number of participating countries in the history of the contest. Six nations out of the forty-three participating countries have a direct place in the final (the big 5 and host country Portugal). The other 37 countries will have to qualify from the two semi finals.

Tickets go on sale

The first wave of tickets for the 2018 Eurovision Song Contest go on sale on Thursday 30th November at 11:00 CET. Tickets for the Grand Final, including the two rehearsals, are available for purchase in the first wave of sales which is set to begin on 30th November. The tickets will be priced at various levels between €35 and €299, from 11:00 CET from official ticketing website

Tickets for the remaining shows, including the Semi-Finals, will be on sale in further waves. These waves take place in January 2018 after the Semi-Final Allocation Draw. The ticketing page on will contain with further information about future ticket releases.

1 Comment

Comments are closed.