Eurovision 2018: FYR Macedonia is not taking part in Lisbon

The European Broadcasting Union has confirmed that 42 countries will take part at the Eurovision Song Contest 2018 in Lisbon. Russia returns to the contest, FYR Macedonia will not be allowed to take part.

Last week, the European Broadcasting Union already imposed sanctions on Macedonia Radio Television, casting doubt on the country’s ability to participate in Lisbon next year. MRT confirmed their participation in Lisbon 2018 in September but are not allowed to take part due to financial issues. Something like this also happened to Romania in 2016, though the decision for that nation was taken much closer to the contest.

The following countries (and EBU Member broadcasters) will participate in the 2018 Eurovision Song Contest in Lisbon. Strangely, the EBU has not commented on the absence of FYR Macedonia on the list:

• Albania (RTSH)
• Armenia (AMPTV)
• Australia (SBS)
• Austria (ORF)
• Azerbaijan (ICTIMAI TV)
• Belarus (BTRC)
• Belgium (VRT)
• Bulgaria (BNT)
• Croatia (HRT)
• Cyprus (CYBC)
• Czech Republic (CT)
• Denmark (DR)
• Estonia (ERR)
• Finland (YLE)
• France (FT)
• Germany (ARD/NDR)
• Georgia (GPB)
• Greece (ERT)
• Hungary (MTVA)
• Iceland (RUV)
• Ireland (RTE)
• Israel (IPBC/KAN)
• Italy (RAI)
• Latvia (LTV)
• Lithuania (LRT)
• Malta (PBS)
• Moldova (TRM)
• Montenegro (RTCG)
• The Netherlands (AVROTROS)
• Norway (NRK)
• Poland (TVP)
• Portugal (RTP)
• Romania (TVR)
• Russia (C1R)
• San Marino (RTV)
• Serbia (RTS)
• Slovenia (RTVSLO)
• Spain (TVE)
• Sweden (SVT)
• Switzerland (SRG/SSR)
• Ukraine (UA:PBC)
• United Kingdom (BBC)

The Semi Finals of the Eurovision Song Contest 2018 will take place on Tuesday 8th and Thursday 10th May, with the Grand Final on Saturday 12th.