Eurovision 2020 will take place in one of these 8 cities (UPDATE)

Eurovision 2019 Netherlands Duncan Laurence 2020

Nine cities have applied for the organisation of Eurovision 2020 in the Netherlands. Among them are Amsterdam and Rotterdam, the two biggest cities in the country. Applicants have until July 10th to prepare their bidbook.

Broadcaster AVROTROS will review the bidbooks along with EBU. Apart from the venue, which needs to fulfill certain requirements, other aspects are also important. Infrastructure, traffic plans and accommodation for delegations, journalists and fans are all relevant factors.

The cities that have applied so far are: Amsterdam, Arnhem, Breda, Den Bosch, Den Haag, Leeuwarden, Maastricht, Rotterdam, Utrecht. Other cities may form a bidbook too, however, it is unlikely that they can still meet the deadline of July 10th, being behind in the process.

Leeuwarden withdraws

On June 18, Leeuwarden announced that they have withdrawn from the process. EBU had informed Leeuwarden that the roof of their location, WTC Expo, was too low to host Eurovision.

ESCDaily goes into more detail for all the participants on our “Eurovision 2020 in The Netherlands” page. Here we also explain why Rotterdam and Amsterdam have the best chances so far:

Eurovision 2020 in The Netherlands: Host city announced in August

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.