Finland: It’s PKN to sing in Vienna

Moments ago, Pertti Kurikan Nimipäivät won the Finnish selection Uuden Musiikin Kilpailu with the song Aina Mun Pitää. The competition this year boasted a diverse pool of 18 contestants, 9 of which qualified for the finale. In the end Aina Mun Pitää was the strongest entry, winning the prized ticket to this year’s contest in Vienna.

From the 9 qualified entries this evening we heard alternative radio-pop, Latin reggae hip-hop, punk, bhangra, electronic opera, a pop ballad, a Sami duo, electro-pop and some hard-core stadium rock. Making for an exciting competition, Finland best fancied their chances with Aina Mun Pitää. Satin Circus, who won the public jury vote (10%), came second and Opera Skaala placed in third.

Finnish broadcaster YLE slightly revamped their preselection format, cutting the jury and prolonging the show to 3 semi-finals and one final. This meant the television audience had 100% vote throughout the show with a final 90/10 split with a public jury to decide the winner – resulting in many fan-favorites for many different reasons.

In the end, we will see Aina Mun Pitää in just three months representing the nation in Vienna!

The lineup tonight went like this (winner in bold):

  • Satin Circus – Crossroads
  • Norlan El Misionario – No Voy A llorar Por Ti
  • Pertti Kurikan Nimipäivät – Aina mun pitää
  • Shava – Ostarilla
  • Opera Skaala – Heart of light
  • Jouni Aslak – Lions and lambs
  • Solju – Hold Your Colours
  • Angelo De Nile – All for Victory
  • Järjestyshäiriö – Särkyneiden sydänten kulmilla