Finland: Mikael Saari among 18 finalists for UMK 2016

Finnish broadcaster YLE has published the names, songtitles and videos of the eightteen songs that will compete in Uuden Musiikin Kilpailu later this year. There will be three semi finals, with three out of six candidates qualifying for the final on the 27th of February.

One of the eightteen participants is Mikael Saari, who came close to representing his country in 2013 with the song “We should be through”, which became popular among fans. His renewed participation was today announced by Krista Siegfrids, who beat Saari in 2013 and went on to represent Finland in the 2013 Eurovision Song Contest. This year, Siegfrids will be in the Swedish Melodifestivalen.

Here is the line-up in Finland, you can listen to all songs here:

Show 1, February 6th
* Saara Aalto – No Fear
* Mikko Herranen – Evil Tone
* Stella Christine – Ain’t Got Time for Boys
* Eini – Draamaa
* ClemSO – Thief
* Pää-Äijät – Shamppanjataivas

Show 2, February 13th
* Attention 2 – Ready For The Show
* Cristal Snow – Love Is Blind
* Annica Milán & Kimmo Blom – Good Enough
* Rafaela Truda – Rise Up
* Ylona – Blazing Fire
* Mikael Saari – On It Goes

Show 3, February 20th
* Lieminen – Pehmeiden Arvojen Vaalijat
* Tuuli Okkonen – Don’t Wake Me Up
* Gušani Brothers – Poom Poom
* Barbe-Q-Barbies – Let Me Out
* Pietarin Spektaakkeli – Liian Kuuma
* Sandhja – Sing It Away

Last year, Finland failed to reach the final for the first time in a couple of years. Pertti Kurikan Nimipäivät only got thirteen points in the semi final.

UMK 2016 line-up