Finland returns to previous UMK format in 2020

Finnish broadcaster YLE has released information on the selection process for the 2020 Eurovision season. Unlike the previous two years, the selection UMK will return to an open format, previously used between 2012 and 2017.

In 2018, the Finnish broadcaster decided to change their approach for Eurovision by internally selecting their artist, but still featuring a public song selection process. The selected artists would then release three songs, and the public and jury would then select the song through the live UMK show.

YLE have announced that they will be returning to the previous format, which was an open format set to feature a range of artists and songs. Interested artists and songwriters will be able to submit their entries to the broadcaster from November 1st to November 8th. YLE’s radio station will also be involved with the process, as will music supervisor Tapio Hakanen who has taken the role of team leader.

This year Darude represented Finland alongside vocalist Sebastian Rejman with the song Look Away, however the song finished last in the semi-final with just 23 points in total.