France opts for a national final with 12 candidates

France will return to a national final for the Eurovision Song Contest 2021. France Télévisions announced the 12 participating artists and their song titles after completing an internal selection process.

The new national final will be named Eurovision France – C’est vous qui décidez! which translates to ‘you decide’. Just like the name suggests, the French audience who’ll be watching from home will get the chance to choose their favourite performance. The audience votes will count for 50% of the total score while the other 50% will be decided by a professional jury of 10 people.

The show will be hosted live by Stéphane Bern on France 2 and will feature 12 competing artists:

LMK – Magique
Ali – Paris Me Dit
Casanova – Tutti
Barbara Pravi – Voilà
Cephaz – On A Mangé Le Soleil
Amui – Maeva
Andriamad – Alléluia
Philippine – Bah Non
Juliette Moraine – Pourvu Qu’on M’Aime
21 Juin Le Duo – Peux-Tu Me Dire?
Terence James – Je T’Emmènerai Danser
Pony X – Amour Fou

Every evening from 16 December, France 2 will show a portrait of a participating artist during the programme Eurovision France – les finalistes. In these portraits, the artists will present more information about their career as well as their song.