Germany: National final focuses on young talents

Germany has revealed details about their selection process for Eurovision 2017, “Unser Song 2017”. Broadcaster NDR is searching for the best five young talents from across Germany as part of their selection process for the Eurovision Song Contest 2017.

NDR has opted for a brand new selection format following two years of disappointing results in the contest. “Unser song für Kiev 2017” will see five young artists take to the stage on the 9th of February in Cologne.

A total of 30 young singers will be selected to go through to the first round of the selection process, with 5 making it to the live final, in which the five singers will be performing a song which has been produced specifically to compete in Eurovision.

There have been appointed three jury members for the show. They are Lena (Winner of the Eurovision Song Contest 2010), Tim Bendzko and Florian Silbereisen. There will however only be an advisory rule for them, as the public will decide who will go to Ukraine.

ESC Daily was the first to confirm that the German broadcaster would stick to a national final format and not go for an internal choice after their string of bad results in the contest, and messy streak in their selection process the last two years. Look back at our interview with the German Head of Delegation Thomas Schreiber.

One thing is certain already: The plan is not to look for a new Lena. “Lena was an example of a young and charasmatic girl that can fill the stage. But we should not be looking for a second Lena, she is unique. It is a composers contest, the strenght of the song is the main importance. We are looking for personalities and songs that are strong enough.”