Iceland chooses Hatari over Hera Björk

Hatari has won the final of Songvakeppnin 2019 in Iceland and will represent the country at the Eurovision Song Contest in Tel Aviv. The band Hatari, consisting of Klemens Hannigan, Matthias Haraldsson and Einar Stefánsson, won the Icelandic ticket over Friðrik Ómar in the superfinal.

The band Hatari did manage to block the comeback of Friðrik Ómar and former Eurovision participant Hera Björk. Other participants were Kristina Skoubo Bærendsen and Tara Mobee. The last three didn’t make it to the superfinal.

Check out Hatari’s song “Hatrið mun sigra”: