LIVE: The semi final allocation draw for Eurovision 2017

Which country takes part in which semi final at the Eurovision Song Contest? When will Australia perform their third song at the contest? Find it out as we follow the allocation draw live at 11:00 CET!

At the ceremony Mrs Eva-Louise Erlandsson Slorach, President of the City Council in Stockholm, will formally hand over the Host City Insignia to Kyiv City Mayor Vitali Klitschko. The ceremony will be broadcast live and streamed internationally on YouTube.

You can follow the draw live by keeping track of our Twitter feed below. You don’t have to refresh this page to see the latest updates:

How the draw works

The first part of the draw will determine on which semi-final each of the six pre-qualified countries will broadcast and vote. To remind you, these countries are: France, Germany, Italy, Spain, UK and host country Ukraine. Germany will broadcast and vote in the Second Semi-Final on Thursday 11th May. German broadcaster ARD requested this, and it was approved by the Reference Group.

After that, the second draw will then decide in which semi-final each of the other participating countries will perform. At the request of Swiss broadcaster SRF and approved by the Reference Group, Switzerland will participate in the Second Semi-Final which will have 19 participants and the First Semi-Final 18 participants.

As in previous years, the exact running order will be determined by the producers of the show. From each Semi-Final, ten countries will proceed to the Grand Final on 13th May, joining the six pre-qualified countries. In total, 26 countries will participate in the Grand Final.

Allocation draw pots

The 37 Semi-Finalists are allocated into six pots. This allocation is based on historical voting patterns as calculated by the contest’s official televoting partner Digame. Drawing from different pots increases suspense in the Semi-Finals.

POT 1: Albania, FYR Macedonia, Montenegro, Slovenia, Croatia, Serbia, Switzerland
POT 2: Denmark, Finland, Norway, Iceland, Estonia, Sweden
POT 3: Armenia, Azerbaijan, Belarus, Georgia, Russia, Israel
POT 4: Hungary, Cyprus, Greece, Romania, Moldova, Bulgaria
POT 5: Portugal, Australia, Czech Republic, Malta, Austria, San Marino
POT 6: Belgium, The Netherlands, Ireland, Latvia, Lithuania, Poland