Norway: JOWST to Kiev with ‘Grab The Moment’

Norway held their annual Melodi Grand Prix tonight to decide their Eurovision entry for 2017 and the winner is Jowst featuring Aleksander Walmann with the song “Grab The Moment”. Ten songs competed to represent Norway with international juries as well as a public vote choosing the winner.

The competition took place at its regular home in Oslo Spektrum. And we saw a wide variety of acts from many musical genres take the stage. However it was the dancepop inspired “Grab The Moment” which eventually won over the audience. The fan favourite Elin & The Woods eventually ended the competition in third place, with rock band Ammunition taking the silver medal, as well as Ulrikke in fourth rounding out the superfinal.

Jowst will now go on to perform in the second half of the second semi final in Kiev on the 11th of May. Last year Agnete failed to qualify with the song “Icebreaker”, NRK will be hoping to improve on this result.

The Norwegian entry for Eurovision:

What to you think of this year’s Norwegian entry? Or any of the other national finals that went down tonight? Like our page on Facebook at ESCDaily or tweet us @ESCDaily and let us know!