Norway: Mørland & Debrah Scarlett win MGP with ‘A Monster Like Me’

Tonight, Mørland & Debrah Scarlett won Norway’s popular selection Melodi Grand Prix in Oslo, with the song A Monster Like Me that will now strongly represent them in Vienna. NRK opted for just one show this year, where 11 contestants went head to head.

The four superfinalists turned out to be oldies Tor and Bettan (Elisabeth Andreassen, who won the contest in 1985 as a member of Bobbysocks, and Tor Endresen, who finishd last place 1997), ‘the pizza guys’ Staysman & Lazz, Mørland & Debrah Scarlett with a lovely, dark ballad and Erland Bratland with a club song.

After a second round of voting, Mørland & Debrah Scarlett took the victory by a close jog when the final points were awarded with 88,869; Erland Bratland leading in second with 85,373 points.

To celebrate the 60th anniversary of Eurovision Song Contest, broadcaster NRK made the decision to cut the semi-finals and host just one spectacular show, using a live orchestra in their national final to add to the excitement.

The lineup tonight went like this (winner in bold):

  1. Erlend Bratland – Thunderstruck (with orchestra)
  2. Raylee – Louder
  3. Tor & Bettan – All Over The World (with orchestra)
  4. Jenny Langlo – Next To You
  5. Ira Konstantinidis – We Don’t Worry
  6. Contrazt – Heaven
  7. Marie Klåpbakken – Ta meg tilbake (with orchestra)
  8. Staysman & Lazz – En godt stekt pizza (with orchestra)
  9. Mørland & Debrah Scarlett – A Monster Like Me (with orchestra)
  10. Alexandra Joner – Cinderella (with orchestra)
  11. Karin Park – Human Beings

ESC Daily is also present in the arena with Neil MacInnes, so stay tuned for extras! What do you think of the winner?