Poland to host Junior Eurovision 2019

The EBU and TVP have announced that Poland, winner of the 2018 Junior Eurovision Song Contest, will host the contest next year. It will be the first time that the country will host the competition.

Poland won this year’s Junior Eurovision Song Contest with Roksana Węgiel being crowned the winner with her song Anyone I Want to Be, this saw the 13 year old win with an impressive 215 points.

Jon Ola Sand, the EBU’s Head of Live Events said: “We are delighted to announce Poland as our Host Country, and TVP as our Host Broadcaster, for Junior Eurovision Song Contest 2019 and once again congratulate Roksana Węgiel on her spectacular winning performance at this year’s Contest. It is always exciting to bring the event to a new Host Country for the first time, and we look forward to seeing TVP’s vision for Junior Eurovision Song Contest 2019 come to life over the forthcoming year.”

The 2019 Host Country announcement follows a record breaking Junior Eurovision Song Contest 2018, hosted by Belarusian national broadcaster (BTRC), at the Minsk Arena with 20 participating countries, the highest number in the competition’s history.

Further details for the 2019 Junior Eurovision Song Contest in Poland will follow at a later date.