Portugal: Comeback in Copenhagen now official

After much speculations the European Broadcasting Union has now confirmed that Portugal will be making a comeback in the Eurovision Song Contest of 2014. Last year broadcaster RTP decided to withdraw due to financial problems.

The contest now has 30 confirmed countries so far. The deadline to announce a participation to the EBU is November 22nd. Countries like Armenia, Azerbaijan, Italy, Moldova, Romania, Serbia and Slovenia still need to confirm officially and the participation of Greece is also still in question.

Portugal took part in Baku for the last time, that was in 2012. The last time the country reached the final was in 2010 in Oslo. Portugal also holds the record for begin the country that is taking part for the longest time without a victory.