Running order for the Eurovision 2019 final: Australia 25th, Netherlands 12th

Kate Miller-Heidke rehearsal Australia Eurovision 2019
Australia first rehearsal 2019 — Photo: Thomas Hanses

The running order of the Grand Final of the 2019 Eurovision Song Contest was determined by the Contest Producer Christer Björkman along with the Executive Supervisor of the Eurovision Song Contest, Jon Ola Sand.

On Thursday, we got to meet the last ten last qualifiers for the Grand Final. The Netherlands, Sweden and Russia – the favourites of the bookmakers – all qualified and got a starting position in the first half of the show.

After each Semi-Final, each qualifying act drew in which half of the Grand Final they would perform. The nations from the first semi final already did that on Tuesday night. However, as the host country, Israel already drew its exact starting position (14) during the Heads of Delegation meeting in March.

This is the running order for Saturday’s Eurovision 2019 Final:

  1. Malta
  2. Albania
  3. Czech Republic
  4. Germany
  5. Russia
  6. Denmark
  7. San Marino
  8. North Macedonia
  9. Sweden
  10. Slovenia
  11. Cyprus
  12. Netherlands
  13. Greece
  14. Israel
  15. Norway
  16. United Kingdom
  17. Iceland
  18. Estonia
  19. Belarus
  20. Azerbaijan
  21. France
  22. Italy
  23. Serbia
  24. Switzerland
  25. Australia
  26. Spain

How the running order for Eurovision 2019 was made

The running order was proposed by Christer Björkman, Contest Producer from the production team of Host Broadcaster KAN, and then approved by the EBU’s Executive Supervisor and the Chairman of the Reference Group. The Reference Group is the governing body of the contest on behalf of all 41 participating broadcasters.

The running order tries to ensure each act has the opportunity to stand out amongst the crowd. To come to a decision, the producers look at the genre of music, whether the performer is a solo singer or group, the use of props, the tempo of the song and various other aspects of each act.