Samira Efendi will sing for Azerbaijan in Rotterdam

Azeri broadcaster Ictimai TV has confirmed that Samira Efendi will represent Azerbaijan at Eurovision 2020 in Rotterdam. The broadcaster selected the singer through an internal process. Samira will reveal her song officially in early March.

Five candidates considered

Five candidates were considered to represent Azerbaijan in Rotterdam:

  • Samira Efendi
  • Laman Dadasheva
  • Elvin Novruzov
  • Jabrail Rasulov
  • Riad Abdulov

In the end, Samira Efendi won the selection process behind closed doors, based on the internal votes of an international group of musical experts, including music producers, lyricists, composers, journalists and television industry representatives.

About Samira

Samira had previously attempted five times to represent Azerbaijan at Eurovision, now finally being successful.

I am very proud and happy to represent Azerbaijan in the Eurovision Song Contest this year. Thank you to everyone who believes in me and supports me! I will try my best to make it unforgettable.”

The 28-year-old has competed in popular musical programs such as Yeni ulduzBöyük Səhnə (3rd place) and The Voice of Azerbaijan (3rd place). In 2017, she also took part in the Silk Way Star, an international singing competition which aired in Kazakhstan (3rd place), and, in 2019, she successfully represented Azerbaijan at the Voice of Nur-Sultan, again in Kazakhstan.

Samira was the runner-up choice to represent Azerbaijan in 2019. However, Chingiz ended up singing “Truth” in Tel Aviv ultimately placing fifth at the Grand Final.

Here is an example of Samira’s most recent music:

Dutch songwriters involved?

No further details are available regarding the song that Samira will represent Azerbaijan with this year. However, earlier this week, local media reported that Dutch songwriters Tony Cornelissen and Luuk van Beers had been in Baku and were working on the upcoming entry single.

Tony Cornelissen had produced numerous singles for German band Cascada including Glorious; the German Eurovision entry at 2013.