Sand: 39 countries for Vienna

Jon Ola Sand, the Eurovision Executive Supervision, has stated on his personal Twitter account that a 39th country will compete in the 2015 Eurovision edition, in Vienna.

Earlier this month, the European Broadcasting Union (EBU) announced that only 38 countries would participate in Eurovision 2015, but the door was kept open for more interested countries. Now, Ola Sand gives the confirmation that one more country will join the European family in Vienna, next May.

The identity of this 39th country is still unclear, but it surely isn’t Greece, since the country’s broadcaster, NERIT, has yet to become an EBU member, something that must occur until January, right in time for the Semi-Final Allocation Draw. One can expect to see Ukraine, Croatia or Bulgaria reconsider their position towards the participation in the Jubileum edition of the Eurovision Song Contest.

More details are expect to come out soon.