Sanremo standings after the first nights: Gabbani leads the field

Francesco Gabbani at Sanremo 2020 Source: RAI

In Italy the 24 candidates in the Campioni section have performed their Sanremo 2020 songs for the first time. Based on the results in the first two nights of the prestigous Italian competition, we now have some current standings before we go to the final on Saturday.

It is possible that something unique will happen on Saturday, as we haven’t seen a former winner get the highest place again since 2002. Back then Matia Bazar won Sanremo after previously winning the contest in 1978. This time, Francesco Gabbani could do it again, after winning Sanremo in 2017 with the song ‘Occidentali’s Karma’. He was also the big favourite to win Eurovision in that year, but ended up in a 6th place.

Out of the 24 candidates, 16 of them made it clear to braodcaster RAI that they would also go to Eurovision, should they win Sanremo. We have to wait until Saturday to know if the actual winner is one of those 16 acts.

Results of Sanremo 2020 after the first two nights

Here is the ranking of the Sanremo 2020 acts after the first two nights. The performances of the top-5 can be seen below the list.

1. Francesco Gabbani – Viceversa
2. Le Vibrazioni – Dov’è
3. Piero Pelù – Gigante
4. Pinguini Tattici Nucleari – Ringo Starr
5. Elodie – Andromeda
6. Diodato – Fai rumore
7. Irene Grandi – Finalmente io
8. Tosca – Ho amato tutto
9. Michele Zarrillo – Nell’estasi o nel fango
10. Levante – Tikibombom
11. Marco Masini – Il confronto
12. Alberto Urso – Il sole ad est
13. Giordana Angi – Come mia madre
14. Raphael Gualazzi – Carioca
15. Anastasio – Rosso di rabbia
16. Paolo Jannacci – Voglio parlarti adesso
17. Achille Lauro – Me ne frego
18. Enrico Nigiotti – Baciami adesso
19. Rita Pavone – Niente (Resilienza 74)
20. Riki – Lo sappiamo entrambi
21. Elettra Lamborghini – Musica (e il resto scompare)
22. Rancore – Eden
23. Bugo e Morgan – Sincero
24. Junior Cally – No grazie

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.