Sweden: Krista Siegfrids eliminated, David Lindgren through

David Lindgren and Wiktoria have qualified for the Melodifestivalen final after tonight’s semi-final in Malmö. Isa and Molly Pettersson Hammar will compete in Andra Chansen on 5th of March. Finnish singer and UMK 2016 host, Krista Siegfrids was eliminated after placing 5th.

Tonight’s semi-final was held in Malmö Arena the 2013 venue for the Eurovision Song Contest. It was hosted by Eurovision 1999 winner Charlotte Perrelli and Gina Dirawi, who hosted previously hosted Melodifestivalen in 2012 and 2013.

Among tonight’s competitors was Krista Siegfrids, who is also one of this year’s hosts for Uuden Musiikin Kilpailu, the Finnish Eurovision selection competition. This was Siegfrids’ second time competing at Malmö Arena, having also represented Finland in Malmö in 2013.  Her song ‘Faller’ came in 5th place in the competition, just missing out on the opportunity to compete further.

Below are tonight’s artists and songs in the order of their performances (finalists are in bold, Andra Chansen competitors in italics):

  • David Lindgren – We Are Your Tomorrow
  • Victor och Natten – 100%
  • Molly Pettersson Hammar – Hunger
  • Isa – I Will Wait
  • Krista Siegfrids – Faller
  • Patrik Isaksson, Tommy Nilsson & Uno Svenningsson – Håll mitt hjärta hårt
  • Wiktoria – Save Me

David Lindgren and Wiktoria will head straight to the final in Stockholm’s Friend Arena on 12th of March. Lindgren’s song ‘We Are Your Tomorrow’ kicked off the night with positive lyrics that got the audience singing along. The song was an instant favorite among the audience. Wiktoria’s ‘Save Me’ combined strong lyrics with a beautifully animated stage to secure her spot in the final.

Meanwhile, Isa and Molly Pettersson Hammar will compete again in Andra Chansen on 5th of March for the chance to secure a spot in the final. They will join Samir & Victor and Albin & Mattias who qualified for Andra Chansen last weekend in Gothenburg.

Join ESC Daily again next week for semi-final number 3 live from Norrköping.