Switzerland: Meet the six finalists for 2015

After three Swiss broadcasters narrowed down number of artists competing for next year’s Eurosong contest, at Sunday, 7 December, 18 performers were presented to a jury. Six of them were chosen.

Tiziana, Timebelle, Andy McSean, Licia Chery, Mélanie René, and Deborah are the six finalist that will go on the grand final on the 31st of January. One of them will be elected to represent Switzerland in Vienna next year.

Three performers (Tiziana, Timebelle and Andy McSean) are representatives of SRF (Swiss Radio and Television), Licia Chery and Mélanie René are representatives of RTS (Radio télévision suisse) and Deborah is from RSI (Radiotelevisione svizzera di lingua italiana).

Meet the Swiss finalists: 

Tiziana, who performed the song “Only Humans”, is the youngest candidate, with extraordinary vocal power.

Timbelle is the name of the band won jury with the song “Singing about Love”. The bend consists of six musicians, and all of them have grown up with different mother tongues, bringing their own cultural experience that enrich the sound of the band and make it unique.

Andy McSean had an interesting road from radio host, through street musician to the main stage of Eurovision decision show. “Hey Now” is the name of the song he wrote and performed on Sunday 7th December.

Licia Chery entered the stage with the song “Fly”. She has great respect to classical music, but also adores the big names of Soul (Otis Redding, Ray Charles, Marvin Gaye) and Michael Jackson.

24 year old Mélanie René from Geneve was raised in a family of musicians. She learned to play piano as a child and composed her first song the age of 9. Mélanie sang in the Romanian TV and also won a music competition there. On Sunday she performed “Time To Shine”.

Deborah entered as one of the six finalists with song “Bring Me Back To 23”. Last year she was among the top 12 at “The Voice of Switzerland”.

Six of them will meet again at January 31st in grand final, where one of them will be named as Switzerland representative for Eurosong contest 2015.