The Netherlands: Over 450 songs received

[cft format=0]

The Dutch National Selection is off to a bright start after broadcaster TROS announced they have received over 450 entries this year. It is expected TROS will select around six or seven songs to make the Dutch National Final which is planned to be held on February 26th, 2012!

TROS-manager Peter Kuipers seemed to be surprised by the interest this year. Kuipers gave a statement saying; “we knew a lot of people were working on their entries, but this exceeds all of our expectations. People have worked very hard the last couple of months to work on the one song that will bring The Netherlands to the final. It shows the contest is still alive.”

So far, according to, a big selection of artists have confirmed their participation or interest in the Dutch preselections; Bearforce One, Benjo Plandsoen, Bert Kuizenga, Brandi Russell, Burcak Sikar, Corazón, Danny Nicolay, Deniz Yasmin, Die Twa, Dries Roelvink, Drijfhout, Erikah Karst, European Classic RockShow, Gebroeders Ko, Gré Parelmoer, Jack Kunkels, Jade, Jan Rot, Janneke Iking, Jeronimo, Jerry van Vianen, Johan Vlemmix, LA The Voices ft. Belinda, Nicole Dee & Rene Kaaij, Marieke van Ginneken, Marco Gerits, René Karst, Roy Willems, Ruud van Overdijk, Simone vd Eertwegh, Tao Hypah, Till Seven, Tim van der Sluijs, Zafer Gulenc & Zeno Groenewegen.

More news is expected to be announced this Monday, with the list of accepted participants expected to be known this November/December.

Stay tuned!