The songs of Eurovision 2020 are not allowed to compete in 2021

The chosen songs for the cancelled Eurovision Song Contest 2020 are not allowed to take part at the contest in 2021, which possibly will be held in Rotterdam after all. The EBU confirmed this news in a press statement on Friday.

“The Reference Group, the ESC’s governing board, has decided that, in accordance with the rules of the Eurovision Song Contest, this year’s songs will not be eligible to compete when the Contest returns in 2021,” the EBU states.

“At their discretion, Participating Broadcasters may decide which artist(s) to send in 2021. Either this year’s or a newly chosen one.”

Some nations already confirmed they will keep their singer for 2021. These include The Netherlands (Jeangu Macrooy), Azerbaijan (Samira Efendi), Greece (Stefania), Spain (Blas Cantó) and Ukraine (Go_A).