Ulrikke Brandstorp will represent Norway with song by Mørland

Ulrikke Brandstorp Melodi Grand Prix Norway Eurovision 2020
Ulrikke Brandstorp Source: NRK

Ulrikke Brandstorp has won the Grand Final of Melodi Grand Prix in Norway. With her classical ballad “Attention”, written by Mørland (ESC 2015), she beat surprise runner-up Kristin Husøy in the superfinal by a very small margin.

In the super final, as per Norwegian tradition, 5 regios were able to vote. After winning the vote in Central Norway, Kristin Husøy took a big lead and headed for a huge surprise. Ulrikke, however, pulled back in the Eastern Norway region, winning by only 5000 votes (400.000 votes cast in total).

Much like Mørlands 2015 Eurovision song, “Attention” also tells an interesting story in the lyrics. The instrumentation is simple, as is the staging, with dried ice and a violin player accompanying Ulrikke Brandstorp.

Ulrikke Brandstorp – Attention (Norway Eurovision 2020):

Kristin Husøy qualified for the Grand Final through one of the preselections for lesser known artists. However, in the Grand Final, three of the four songs in the top 4 were not by established artists but by qualifiers. Liza Vassilieva finished in 4th place with “I am gay” while Raylee finished 3rd with “Wild”. Didrik Solli-Tangen (ESC 2010) and Tone Damli, a famous superstar in Norway, were eliminated right away.

Full Results of the Melodi Grand Prix final:

  1. Ulrikke Brandstorp – “Attention”
  2. Kristin Husøy – “Pray for me”
  3. Raylee – “Wild”
  4. Liza Vassilieva – “I am gay”

The other six participants were eliminated in the first round.

  • Didrik & Emil – “Out of Air”
  • Magnus Bokn – “Over the Sea”
  • Akuvi – “Som du er”
  • Rein Alexander – “One Last Time”
  • Tone Damli – “Hurts Sometimes”
  • Sondrey – “Take My Time”